The Love of the Game

Philosopher Jacques Barzun once said that anyone wishing to understand the heart and mind of America should study the sport of baseball. I’m not one to judge whether or not there’s any truth behind that assumption. However, the first official baseball game in America took place in 1846, so no matter how silly it might sound baseball is a big part of American history. But my reasons for going to AT&T Park to see the San Francisco Giants play the San Diego Padres is not primarily so I can get a deeper understanding of Americans, their culture and their country… No it has more to do with the fact that I’ve always loved the atmosphere around a sporting arena. Big or small, the electric feeling is the same. The excitement, the anticipations…it is just something so pure and beautiful in how the love of the game is uniting people all over the world. That is what so far has taken me to Premier League in London,Rugby in New Zealand, La Liga in Barcelona, Champions League in Madrid, Formula 1 in Melbourne and EURO 2012 in Poland/Ukraine.

I would be lying if I said that me and baseball was love at first sight. I tend to like sport with a bit more tempo and action. But I did notice that when it comes to baseball eating seems to be a big part of the experience. And I do love eating…

One thought on “The Love of the Game

  1. Pingback: A new year, a new adventure | forever in the present

Leave a Reply

