California Dreamin’

No matter where in the world you’re going I’m sure that you too, have an idea in your head on what it’s gonna be like, am I right? But isn’t it extremely rare that the idea in your head actually fits with the reality?

My idea of California comes from various Hollywood produced movies and TV- shows.  But the thing is, that for once, my imagination turned out to be pretty accurate. So far, California is more or less exactly as I thought it would be! There are palm trees, oh so many palm trees, gorgeous golden beaches that goes on for miles and miles, top quality wines and organic locally produced products that would make anyones mouth watering. Especially if you happen to be a chef…

This is my first American encounter, but people keep telling me how California isn’t at all as the rest of the 49 states. I don’t know, but I intend to find out, eventually…California is the most populated state in the U.S. It is also the third largest. So I do get that California is much more than golden beaches and palm tress.

Albert Hammond sing about how “It never rains in Southern California”, and it really doesn’t! Well never might be exaggerating…I’ve actually had half a day of rain in the past 3 weeks. In the beginning it was kind of nice with some sunshine, coming from home in the far north of Sweden were I’ve spent 7 weeks with rain, wind and temperatures between 8-20°c. But now I’m sort of missing a cloudy day with some cool temperatures…Lucky that I’m heading up to San Francisco next week;)

Leave a Reply

