The Small Island With The Big Reputation

The place where the beer is always flowing and the folk music is the never changing soundtrack. It’s rainy, windy and cold almost everyday, maybe that is why the Irish tends to spend so much time in the pub…And that it what you should be doing as well. The pub is where its all happening! And they’re everywhere! Let down your hair, have a pint of Guinness, listen to some great traditional music and chat with the locals. Even with the piss weather and the economy going down the drain the Irish must be one of the most cheerful people on this planet! And they’ll be sure to show you a good craic!

Guinness

Guinness Is Good For You

For me the main reason why I decided to spend 5 weeks exploring Ireland this April was because of them. And I can promise you that the reputation of the Irish people’s helpfulness, and friendliness has not been overexaggerated.

A lot of people that I’ve meet go to Ireland and spend a few days in Dublin, and then they move on to another city on their European tour. Which is fine I guess. We all travel for ourselves, and I’m not the one to judge the way other people choose to travel. And Dublin is a great place! With a population of 1,2 million it still has a small town feeling about it. It is a capital like no other! But the country has so much more to offer. I spend 5 weeks in this amazing country and still didn’t manage to fit it all in. Guess that is just another reason to go back…

My first night in Ireland I started chatting to a friendly Irishman who told me the following;

An Irishman’s Philosophy
In life There are only two things to worry about:
Either you are well or you are sick

If you are sick,
Then there are only two things to worry about:
Either you will get well or you will die.

If you get well,
Then there are only two things to worry about:
Either you will go to heaven or hell.

If you go to heaven, there is nothing to worry about.

But if you go to hell,
You’ll be so damn busy shaking hands with friends
You won’t have time to worry!

It kind of stuck with me. I believe it’s a pretty healthy way of looking at life.

During the next couple of days I’ll be telling you about a few of my favourite places and experiences in Ireland. So stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

