The Non-Existent Travel Plan That I Have Planned…

Here goes….I am heading back to Australia!

But not right away, first I’m making a 2,5 months pit stop in California! A place I wanted to visit ever since they first aired The O.C. in 2003. Cheesy I know;) Well let me assure you that is not the main reason I want to go to California today.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking in the last couple of weeks that I’ve been back home in Sweden. I guess that is what happens when you’re returning home after yet another amazing adventure in the world…I got a really tempting job offer, which would look great on my C.V and even better in my wallet. I turned it down. I realized it wasn’t what I wanted to do right now. I’m not done exploring the world, I’ve only just begun.

Since August last year my sister have been living in Santa Barbara with her husband and their energetic 2 year old son Fabian. I was on my way to see them in October last year while heading back home from New Zealand, but do to various reasons, the main one being flight ticket prices I ended up exploring Southeast Asia for 2 months instead. In a month time they are having a second child and they have been asking me numerous times if I didn’t want to come over and help them out a bit. I feelt a bit hesitated at first. Not because I didn’t want to go to California, it had more to do with the fact that I’m not a big baby/kid person. Don’t get me wrong I love my nephew to bits, he is adorable- but he is also a handful. And patience is definately not my strong suit.

My sister’s husband told me at one point that it would be good for me to come over and get some practice with children, just in cause I accidentally got knocked up…hm so not funny!

The thing is that they are just working in the US temporarily and how bad would it be if they came home and I didn’t take the chance to visit once! And I had decided to go to Australia anyways (which I’ll tell you about a bit later) so I thought that I might just as well look up how much more it was gonna cost to fly via Los Angeles. Turned out it was gonna end up costing me 1500 SEK more, which is roughly 175€ or 215$. It was decided! For the first time I’m going to set foot in America.

So fellow travelers…any tips for my upcoming trip are most welcome. Maybe somebody could tell me where I can find the yummiest Burrito? 😉

Leave a Reply

