A long lasting love

What was planned to only be a couple of months in Melbourne, just long enough to save up a little bit of cash somehow very quickly turned to 5…Lesson 1: Saving money is not particularly easy in Australia… Lesson 2: Even if you do, Melbourne is a hard place to leave. 

Out of these 5 months in Melbourne I’ve spent 4 months sleeping in the same bed, 4 months without having to pack and unpack my backpack every couple of days, and 4 months without having to use a coin laundromat even once, yet alone a hostel sink…but now it is time. Time to pack up and hit the road.

My excitement for the next new adventure ahead could be described as a child waiting for Santa. I’m thrilled, fired up but also a tiny little bit scared. Not for Santa, I’ve gotten over that by now, but for the change that is about to occur…I’ve become quite comfortable here for the last few month, possibly a bit too comfortable…And I do leave Melbourne with mixed feelings. The city has treated me well. And I belive we will have a long lasting love. Even if we don’t get to see each other as much as we would like, it feels good knowing that it will be there waiting to welcome me with open arms whenever I decide to go back. I know it won’t be the same. I won’t be the same. And the city is always changing. But most importantly, the people who I’ve gotten to make great Melbourne memories with won’t be here.  But even so, I’m pretty sure that when I do return I will fall in love all over again.

Brunswick Street

Street love

Melbourne Love

Have you ever been to Melbourne? Did you fall in love ?  Or was it just a meaningless little fling?

Leave a comment